Arthurs Seat State Park

Finding a Feast of Fungi in the Forest

A feast of fungi has appeared in Arthurs Seat State Park.  My recent wanderings through the forest have uncovered a smorgasbord of flat and frilly fungal delights.

I found fairy lights and flapjacks.  And a host of weird and wonderful foamy bursts of orange and yellow, erupting out of the ground as though they couldn’t stop.  If you fancy taking a look, you can check out my photos below, and if you live in the area, go and visit Seawinds Gardens, Purves Road, Arthurs Seat.  From there you can walk into the forest  of Arthurs Seat State Park and discover some funky, fleshy fungi for yourself.

A feast of Fungi at Seawinds Gardens

These are my all time favourites. They were photographed in the grounds at Seawinds Garden, so they were not technically in the forest.  Here is a selection of some dainty little features I did find in the forest.

Fungi at Arthurs Seat State Park

arthurs seat state park and seawinds gardens

walks at Arthurs Seat State Park

day walks at arthurs seat state park

walks at arthurs seat

seawinds gardens and arthurs seat state park

seawinds gardens and arthurs seat state part

seawinds gardens at arthurs seat

Ok, so this one is also a more exotic species that was not in the ecological precinct of the forest, but was found in Seawinds Gardens, still technically inside Arthurs Seat State Park.  The photos below, are likewise in the Gardens.

seawinds gardens

seawinds gardens

seawinds garden

I hope your fascination with fungi runs the same course as mine, and that you enjoyed feasting your eyes upon them!

9 thoughts on “Finding a Feast of Fungi in the Forest

  1. It certainly is a feast of fungi, Leah! Beautiful pics of one of my favourite things to look for on walks! I’d love to see the spotty red ones. You’ve done a wonderful jobs of photographing them. Great collection. 🙂

  2. Thanks Jane for your comments. I am lucky enough to have ‘borrowed’ a good friend’s digital SLR camera, and I am finding it such a treat to have. I have an indefinite loan of it, as he rarely uses it, so I am making the most of it 🙂

    1. Unfortunately I am not good with my fungi names 😦 Although a horticulturist, my knowledge doesn’t extend to fungi…yet. There is always opportunity to learn more, though mostly I stick to learning more about indigenous plants in my local area, or study up on plants found in other areas that I walk in.

  3. Always! Knowing your plants can explain a lot about the type of country you’re walking through, and occasionally you can also benefit from that knowledge by knowing which ones you can eat :). I’ve tried a few plant snacks in the bush just by learning more about indigenous plants and the people that came before us, and how they used them. Never know when you might be reliant on something other than what’s in your pack! 🙂 Leah

    1. Thanks Jake. I must admit although I love finding all sorts of fungi on my walks, I know very little about them, so there is not much chance of my photos ever getting a proper label! 🙂

Leave a Reply

